Nature Valley Nut & Seed Crisps

As I strolled down the aisles of the grocery store looking for new products, the Nature Valley Nut & Seed Crisps stood out for me. I have had other Nature Valley snack products before and I still continue to purchase them. I am a huge fan of nuts and seeds and products that contain them, so I was pleased to see Nature Valley still making new products with nuts in them.

The Nut & Seed Crisps flavour that really caught my attention was the peanut and salted caramel. Salted caramel seems to be a classic flavour that has lately been a trend and added to everything from hot chocolate mixes to granola bars. However, the packaging does not illustrate any salted caramel. I don’t think anyone would even know it was salted caramel flavour, if it was not written on the package. None the less, I still purchased the product because of my love for nuts and seeds. One thing that I really enjoyed from the packaging is how a bit of the product is clear so the consumer can actually see what the bars look like. The product comes with 6 bars at the price of $4.99 which I think is a good price for how expensive some of the ingredients in the product can be.

image

As I eagerly rushed home to try the product, I quickly opened the first bar and noticed that it had a potent smell of peanut butter. The bar as illustrated on the package has a coating of peanut at the bottom. As I took the first bite, it contained a nice crunch, similar to other Nature Valley Products. It definitely isn’t slightly chewy like the Sweet and Salty Nature Valley granola bars. I like bars that have crunch but this bar somewhat falls apart when you bite. I think because the bars are so thin, they don’t keep their shape as well as it could be. None the less, the bar is very tasty, you get the peanut taste as well as the seeds like sunflower. One concern I have with the bar is the salted caramel. For me, I could not taste any of the salted caramel and I think because it was not illustrated in the packaging it is some what deceiving to label the product as salted caramel without having the taste of it. If the packaging said peanut and seeds I would have still bought it. I just don’t think they should name it salted caramel because its on trend. If you’re going to have salted caramel in the product you should be able to taste it!

image

Overall, I would definitely repurchase this product. Even though it does not have the salted caramel taste, it is still very yummy. It makes for a great alternative to your standard granola bars. I would definitely recommend this product if you are getting sick of your granola bar and looking to change it. The price of the product is great and it makes a quick and easy snack for lunch at work or school.

 

Leave a Reply

